Love Is…

08.1.2010 at 2:31 pm Leave a comment

I’ve been thinking a lot about relationships and what they’re “supposed” to be. When a relationship is in the beginning stages, there’s a euphoric high just thinking about the other person. It was no different between me and JLo. But we’ve been together almost 7 years now, well past the honeymoon stages of our relationship. When my 19-year-old coworker asks me excitedly, “What did you do last night? What are you going to do tonight?”, sometimes I almost feel like I’m disappointing her by saying “Same as every other night. Dinner, video games, and rubbing my neurotic dog’s belly.”

But it’s the truth. My Saturday nights look just like Tuesday nights. We go out every once in a while, but we don’t schedule date nights or try to be ultra-romantic. It’s not who we are; we like to yell at the TV as we take on an army of aliens, laugh until we almost pee our pants at 30 Rock and Arrested Development, watch terrible used-to-be-awesome movies like Mortal Kombat, and as you can guess, rub our neurotic dog’s belly (because Fisher cannot stand to not be included in couch-togetherness). It sounds boring and mundane and I couldn’t be frickin’ happier doing it.

I am a creature of habit. I love every night spent together on the couch, laughing at our beloved characters, talking about ridiculous things, and having Fisher bark at us when we hug in the kitchen because he’s not tall enough. I think this scene between Liz Lemon and her bff/crazy actress Jenna Maroney is perfect:

Liz: “Everything in my life is work. But not Dennis Duffy. I don’t have to shave, I don’t have to bathe, I don’t have to be clever or nice, you know. I can just be myself. Isn’t that what love really is?”

Jenna: “No. Love is hiding who you really are at all times, even when you’re sleeping. Love is wearing make up to bed and going downstairs to the Burger King to poop.”

Now, obviously, I’m not quite as gross as Lemon, since I refuse to go a day without bathing, but the important part about her quote is obviously being yourself. I’m sure I’m less than attractive when I’m in pajamas the second I walk through my front door or my hair resembles what my mother calls a “fright wig” first thing in the morning. But JLo still wants to be with me at the beginning and end of every day and that’s pretty awesome. It kinda makes the 7 years versus 5th date euphoric high that much better.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

A Vegetarian’s Worst Nightmare. Cakes of the Nerdy Kind

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Lemon Bride Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Be lazy like Lemon-let the posts come to YOU! It's a good thing.

Join 3 other followers


