A Vegetarian’s Worst Nightmare.

07.25.2010 at 4:26 pm Leave a comment

Sundays are probably my most favorite day of the week. Sundays are usually my day off (we open my store 12-5, but I’d say I only work maybe 1 out of 5 or 6 Sundays) and JLo has the day off, too. Typically, JLo will drive out to the country to rock his face off with his bandmate Waylon, but today he decided to stay in with me and Fisher. After he made breakfast, laundry was done, groceries were bought, and the almost-hubs made barbecue. Delicious, melt in your mouth, sing to the heavens barbecue. Since we’re in an apartment, he takes the giant slab of pork, cooks it for 5-6 hours in the crock pot, then minces it up and douses it with the sauce of his choosing. Yum.

We once went to an outdoor summer wedding where the reception food was essentially a large barbecue buffet. It had all the Southern classics–baked beans, potato salad, coleslaw, bbq, rolls, and a keg of beer. Now while I can admit this sounds just off to the right of a backyard wedding, at this one it was gorgeous AND delicious. JLo loves bbq quite possibly more than anything in the world and swears he could never go vegetarian just because of pork. While I don’t plan on having a full out barbecue buffet at my reception, I do want the food to be somewhat reminiscent of the Southern charm both our families are from. The only catch is, I want it done in a way that makes people think it’s a little fancier than what JLo can make on a Sunday afternoon.

So in honor of this hot as hell weekend, with mouthwatering bbq in my kitchen, I wanted to show off some delicious barbecue options for wedding receptions that are by no means your cousin’s shotgun wedding, can only afford KFC for dinner affair. First up, here’s the sample menu for an “autumn pig roast” by Center Stage Catering, my number one pick for my own food vendors come shopping time. Their ideas for the menu here?

Hors D’oeuvres: Pineapple Cilantro Tartlet Bites & Peach BBQ Shrimp Sates

Hardwood Roast Pig basted in a Rum Pineapple Syrup…Caribbean Jerked Chicken…Sweet Autumn Cole Slaw…Hand cut Salt and Pepper Chips…

There are  a few more on the menu, but those? Oh-em-gee. Here’s some photos of more heavenly bbq ideas:

Ludy’s Main Street BBQ & Catering

Source

These bbq sliders are found at Joey’s Smokin BBQ in Manhattan Beach, CA. From left to right: Texas brisket, Memphis pulled pork, and pulled chicken.

Source

Um…I need to go raid my fridge now. I’m slobbering more than my dog. Barbecue is calling out to me, just begging to be devoured. Happy drooling!

Entry filed under: Reception.

Something Old, Something New Love Is…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Lemon Bride Tweets

Be lazy like Lemon-let the posts come to YOU! It's a good thing.

Join 4 other followers


