Wedding Colors: the Bridesmaids

06.24.2010 at 12:42 pm 3 comments

I’ve been super inspired lately by shades of blue. I’ve already decided to for my wedding colors to be a shade or two of blue. I really love navy, slate blue, and ivory together. The more I think about it, the more I love the palette. It’s classic and clean, still maintaining one of my all time favorite colors, and fits my not quite yet winter needs. The more photos I see, the more convinced I am this palette’s what I’m looking for. I’m willing to trade the navy in for a midnight shade, but I think I’ll play fast and loose ’til I know for sure.

My mom warned me that once we started wedding planning, it was all over. For my email inbox, I mean. Every day (especially the last 3 weeks of couch-dom) she and I have sent one another at least 15 emails a piece. The best part, though, is that she and I know each other so well that she could probably plan the whole thing without me. Everything she picks, I automatically bookmark it because I think it’s so fantastic. This morning she took it upon herself to stalk Nordstrom’s website and found unbelievably perfect bridesmaids’ dresses.

To get an idea, here are my bridesmaids. Or sanity-holders, since Morgan insists she’s no one’s maid (we’re very pro-feminism in my group).

Erica & Morgan

I may also have my ridiculously gorgeous cousin Amanda be a bridesmaid (if I can handle standing next to her-seriously, she’s model beautiful and I may have to put a bag over her head in my pictures), but I haven’t “officially” asked yet. Erica and Morgan already knew they had no choice. So I have two, possibly 3 wonderful ladies. I know it’s a small bridal party, but closeknit is how I am. Quality over quantity or something. I have a lot of great girlfriends, but these two, we’ve been through it all. I’ll save the how we met’s for another post, but these girls are my two besties. Luckily, they’re all gorgeous individuals who are skinny bitches and will look fabulous in whatever dresses we all decide!

Here’s what my mom picked out just this morning. Yes, all of these, just these morning-and these are only my very favorites. There were twice this many to choose from! Imagine my delight every morning-I know for sure I’m gonna have emails of beautiful things!

I think my favorites are the first or fourth one. I like the clean simplicity of the first one, but the fourth one has that cute top and looks like a fun party dress. The best part is that I know both girls can wear these again, whether for a New Year’s or cocktail party.

And because I love this one, here’s a dress my mom loves for herself. My mom’s blonde and beautiful and could totally pull this off. I think it’s just stunning:

Have a favorite? Let me know! The plan is to go shopping with my ladies and see what we can find. As I told Morgan the other day, I honestly don’t even care if the dresses match, as long as they’re in the color palette. I just want them to be able to wear them again, because I don’t want them to feel they’re wasting dollars. In any case, at least I know they’ll be beautiful in whatever they wear!

Entry filed under: Inspiration, Threads.

The Urban Bride: Swag Bag Centerpieces

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Robin Chenery  |  06.24.2010 at 2:24 pm

    Awwww….thank you Lemon daughter! Not true but thank you anyway! Way too early to decide on anything especially for me…not enough bling fo yo Moma! You and the “skinny bitches” have a lot of looking to do before deciding on anything. I will NOT be one of those “Controlling Moms” who decides your fate! I could care less if you and J-Lo-Lo elope to Vegas, wear flip flops & braid your hair (you not him)…as long as you are happy and it is what you want…I’m there!
    Sour Puss Mom

    Reply
  • 2. BonafideBride  |  06.27.2010 at 3:06 pm

    I love every bridesmaid dress shown! And it’s funny, your mother likes the same dress my future mother-in-law has been eyeing. I told her she should get it!

    Reply
    • 3. LemonBride  |  06.27.2010 at 11:00 pm

      Thank you for your bridesmaids’ dress support! Our moms have good taste 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Lemon Bride Tweets

Be lazy like Lemon-let the posts come to YOU! It's a good thing.

Join 4 other followers


