Inspiration: Urban Bride

06.15.2010 at 12:02 am 1 comment

Urban Bride, “the modern bride’s guide to a city-chic wedding,” has been my inspiration here the last couple of days. I owe them a photo shoot of the amazing swag bag I won and plan to handle those shots tomorrow so you can see the fantastic goodies! I am so in love with the cityscape stationery; I can’t wait for you to see it. However, for right now, I wanted to post some photos that I had my photography partner take earlier this evening. And just so you know, I’m never for serious.

The dreaded "duck face" pose.

I love their site for so many reasons-not only are Amanda and and Meghan kind and obviously generous with gifts, but they post gorgeous photos and innovative resources for the modern bride. I would just die to be on their team! Their newest contributor, Erinn Ryan, said it best- “Don’t get me wrong, I love gardens, I love soft vintage lighting, and I lovelovelove sweet romantic plantation houses in the deep south, but I’m ready for so much more. I’m talking big lights, beautiful downtown venues, and a gorgeous skyline as a back drop to your wedding day photos.”

I couldn’t have said it better. I live in the South and I love those photos of beautiful brides outside with their new husband, against a soft backdrop of flowers and sunshine. But I am simply not that kinda girl. I love modern, contemporary, sleek looks that are both gorgeous and artsy. If there’s anything about me I value most, it’s that I’m sort of an artsy girl-not necessarily in the “I paint like Picasso” way, but I have and will always be a writer. I enjoy painting; I am a photographer, so I am always looking at the world from a different viewpoint than say, Jason would.

Like here? This is not the face of the Southern barn bride:

I have never been a romantic type; I don’t like to put vignettes around my subjects in photos because it’s simply not my style. I adore sharp, focused photos. I love vintage anything, but don’t own any because it doesn’t match my personality. I adore brides who can pull off birdcage veils, but I know it’s not me. I consider myself fresh and colorful and definitely, DEFINITELY a city gal. Jason’s bandmate lives out in the middle of nowhere and I cannot tell you how miserable I personally would be without cell phone service at my fingertips and a restaurant around the block.

This is why the Urban Bride Blog (along with the likes of Offbeat Bride, RocknRoll Bride, Broke-Ass Bride, to name a few) is so great for me. I want my wedding totally indoors, along with chic, sleek, lovely details that aren’t necessarily DIY (because I’d honestly rather pay someone to handle the stress that I’d lose my head over).

Without further ado, here are my photos, taken by my partner/best friend/MOH Erica (co-partner of E Squared Studios), of my interpretation of being an Urban Bride. I live downtown, literally 6 blocks from my store and the rest of downtown. Erica’s apartment balcony overlooks Roanoke City, including the Mill Mountain Star. You can see the golden Wachovia Tower from outside the city-that’s when I know I’m close to home. I am DEFINITELY an Urban Bride (wannabe).

And don’t worry, I’ll get those photos up of the goodies I received from the lovely UB ladies. You’re gonna squeal just like I did when you see how fantastic they are!

Lemon Love to Urban Bride (and my ring)

Entry filed under: Inspiration. Tags: , , , .

Pretty Things to Cheer You Up Florida Photos

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Amanda B. Young  |  06.17.2010 at 5:37 pm

    …and they turned out awesome. LOVE THESE SHOTS! You’re so adorable!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Lemon Bride Tweets

Be lazy like Lemon-let the posts come to YOU! It's a good thing.

Join 4 other followers


