Why’s It Called a Honeymoon, Anyway?

05.16.2010 at 9:31 pm 2 comments

“The term ‘honeymoon’ first originated in Babylon, about 4,000 years ago. Honeymoon came into use for the month after a wedding, when the bride’s father would give the groom all the mead he wanted. Mead is actually a honey beer, and being so, the Babylon’s calendar was a lunar calender, which is based off the moon. They then started to call that month, the ‘honey month’, which we now have adapted to be honeymoon.” –WikiAnswers

Doesn’t really sound quite as romantic as “being over the moon about your honey” but rarely is anything as romantic as its connotation.

I think a honeymoon destination decision will be the hardest thing with wedding planning, strictly because Jason and I can’t agree on anything. Not right now, anyways. My idea of a dream vacation is to spend a couple of weeks (or months, whatever) in Rome; I stay in the central city for a week or so, exploring the history and architecture, art and secrets, photographing literally everything in sight. Then I hop a train to Tuscany and spend the remainder of my time in the country, wandering through the landscapes and writing about every smell, sound, and image I find. I took a year of Italian classes for fun while living in Nashville (and yes, I know I’m a nerd); I’m pretty sure I could sacrifice my time to learn some more so I can easily get around and appear more like a local.

But Jason’s idea of a vacation, as I discovered 2 years ago in Cleveland, is to travel around the country seeing every baseball stadium in existence. Or follow Bob Dylan’s tour around, whichever is available at the time. (In Cleveland, I got BOTH those things. What a vacation. The only reason I went was for the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame-specifically The Doors’ exhibit. For the record.)

Um…veto. That’s pretty much my idea of a “shoot me in the face” honeymoon. It’s great for him because those are his things-baseball and Bob Dylan-and I’d never want to keep him from doing it, but I’d REALLY rather not accompany him. He should take his best friend, his brother, or the dog; I don’t really care, as long as it’s not me he’s dragging along. I’ve already seen Dylan twice, and not only was that plenty for me, but now that I’ve seen Jack White jam out with him at the Ryman Auditorium, I think I’m set for life. Nothing could top that one for me when it comes to Dylan. I’m good, yo.

So as you can imagine, honeymoon destination talk has been a little tough-we talked about it a lot at first because it was exciting, and now that we know each other’s ideas, it’s like we refuse to go back to the conversation because we know we’ll just disagree. He won’t let go of Hawaii–nothing against the fantastic Islands, but I would rather save that trip for an anniversary or something. The way I see it, if I’m going to take the time to shell out the bones and my friends and family are going to help with a honeymoon registry, I want to make it seriously worth our while and go somewhere fabulous, say, out of the country. We both like the idea of New Zealand or Australia, but the little research I’ve done shows that not only is it a very long flight (22 hours, give or take), flights are quite the price. And I don’t necessarily have to fly to the other side of the world to make it work. But Australia has always been a bit of a dream for me (thanks Crocodile Dundee).

Here’s the deal: I am not a beach person. I love the ocean and the view…from a deck (preferably with a cold adult beverage in hand). I have never been the girl who loves to lay out to bake on the sand or swim for hours in the ocean. Not only does it consist of Crisco-ing myself into a swimsuit, but also lobster-burning my pale Irish skin, saltwater in my contacts and never mind the sand that follows you home for days! I like to DO things on vacation-rarely do I get the opportunity to travel, so I feel like I can relax at home after work or on weekends with Fisher in my lap, TV remote in hand. I love the idea of honeymooning in London for the historical aspect, but Jason immediately nixed it-didn’t want the weather or the food. He has no desire for Rome. I think the only place we actually could decide on was Boston (history+great food+low travel time+Red Sox), but since we’re thinking in November, baseball season is out and we’d like to not freeze to death.

A Boston winter..pass, thanks.

I guess I just want somewhere with a little bit of adventure. I asked my mom where she would go if she could get another honeymoon and she said she’d go to California, take a long road trip up and down the coast visiting different places. A lot of people have suggested areas like Napa Valley, but as I’m not a wine-drinker, it seems a bit wasteful. I don’t necessarily want to drive everyday. I’m not a big party person-I don’t need dancing and clubs with lots of booze. I’m not a hiker, either, so camping’s out. Maybe a cruise, but I want to do something different than just Jamaica or the Bahamas. I want to be unique in what I choose, but I also know that I want nice weather which, in November, comes at a cost. I’m really just a book nerd; I don’t mind learning a few new things in whatever city we choose.

Where can I get a honeymoon location with adventure and/or history, along with gorgeous views and terrific food? Help!

Entry filed under: Honeymoon.

Fisher (Or, Why I Don’t Want Kids) The Sweet Stuff

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shalynn  |  06.11.2010 at 2:35 pm

    If your thinking cruise there is always the Mediterranean, its different, plus you get the food, history, culture, and adventure that you both kinda want. I love your blog by the way! Hilarious!!

    Reply
  • 2. esquaredstudios  |  06.11.2010 at 4:04 pm

    Thank you Shalynn! 🙂 A Mediterranean cruise is definitely on my top 5 choices-now I just gotta convince Jason to leave the country 😉 Hope you’re well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Lemon Bride Tweets

Be lazy like Lemon-let the posts come to YOU! It's a good thing.

Join 4 other followers


