Fisher (Or, Why I Don’t Want Kids)

05.12.2010 at 7:05 pm 1 comment

Jason and I have discussed many a time about not having kids. My brother has two boys who I absolutely adore; his brother has two boys, and a third on the way. Between the (almost) 5 of them, we’re kind of set as far as kids in our life go. I get a lot of the “You’ll see’s” and “You just wait’s” but I’ve never been one to constantly tell everyone “When I have a little mini-me…”. Don’t get me wrong-kids are awesome. But I never even really liked babysitting, up until Owen, my 8 year old nephew, came along. My sister chose not to have kids, and she’s got a great life-she’s excelled in her firefighting career (she’s a captain now), has three dogs, a great husband, a boat, and a house in the Keys (she lives in West Palm Beach-can’t wait to see her in 2 weeks, by the by.) I kinda wanna be like her when I grow up. I like having time to myself; I’m a relatively quiet person and I’m realistic enough to know that when you decide to have kids, you sacrifice your time and energy into yourself so that your children can benefit. Jason and I like to travel, eat, and adventure, and I know people keep saying “Oh, you’re only 25/27, it’ll change when you’re older” but I just don’t think that’s the case. I think when you know, you know and that’s just not been something I want to partake in-spend time with family and friends’ little ones, sure, but then the day is said and done, I can go home and relax on my couch with a good book, silence, and whatever else I please. I don’t know if I’m capable of that sacrifice.

However, I DO have an affinity for animals. I’ve been around dogs since I was born. I can’t imagine life without a dog. Last year, Jason got me a dog for my 24th birthday: a Jack Russell we (okay, my mom) named Fisher (as in, Jeff Fisher of the Tennessee Titans-we lived a stone’s throw from the stadium at the time, c’mon!). He goes by many names: Fisher King, Fisheroo, Fisherdoodle, and Fish. He’s a great dog and quite like a small child at times. He sulks when no one pays him any attention (which is next to never, despite his arguments), mumbles when I hit a good spot on his belly, grumphs at me when I tell him to hold on a second to go outside, gets jealous when Jason and I sit on the couch together without him, and loves to play. But he absolutely can’t stand kids; he’s a shelter dog and I have a sneaking suspicion one of his previous owners’ children messed with him a little too much, because now he sees a kid outside and freaks out. So while we have him, kids are probably out of the picture anyways. Luckily, he takes up more than enough of my attention and time (not to mention my mom, his Grandma, and Jason’s mom, Nana’s, attention and time!). So I thought for today, I’d share a few photos of Fisher!

Pretty face 🙂

FIsher (and the front of my biz card :))

Roanoke got hit w/ a ton of snow this past winter. He totally dug it!

He's skeptical.

Fisher on my birthday

Have a great week!

LB

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

STD (har har) Cards Why’s It Called a Honeymoon, Anyway?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Nicole  |  05.17.2010 at 6:52 pm

    soo cute!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Lemon Bride Tweets

Be lazy like Lemon-let the posts come to YOU! It's a good thing.

Join 4 other followers


